botón intranet






















QS logo HiRes jpg

 Scholars at Risk logo


University of MaltaUniversity of Malta

Address: Msida MSD2080, Malta
Phone: +356 2340 2340 / +356 2340 2342
IRO Email

History and objectives: The University of Malta traces its origins to the founding of the Collegium Melitense, set up by the Jesuits through direct papal intervention in 1592. After their expulsion from Malta in 1768, the Grand Master of the Sovereign Military Order of Malta, Manuel Pinto da Fonseca appropriated all their assets and established a ‘Pubblica Università di Studi Generali’. Napoleon Bonaparte briefly put an end to formal university teaching when he abolished the University in 1798. However, British Admiral and Civil Commissioner of Malta, Sir Alexander Ball reinstituted the University after the French’s departure in 1800. Following WWII the university continued to strengthen its structures undergoing a series of changes in its statues and regulations which brought it in line with UK universities.

The University of Malta is the highest teaching institution in Malta open to all those who have the requisite qualifications. The University's structures are in line with the Bologna Process and the European Higher Education Area. It provides high-quality education in the arts, sciences and humanities.

The university’s insignia, inspired by Grand Master Pinto’s coat of arms and the motto ‘Ut Fructificemus Deo’ (Latin translation ‘We should bring forth fruit unto God’) was designed in 1923. In 2017 the university logo underwent significant changes. While maintaining its main characteristics the new logo brings the university’s brand identity forward. The University strives to create courses which are relevant and timely in response to the needs of the nation. Simultaneously, it is outward-looking, attracting international students around the world.


Governing team: The supreme governing body is composed by the Council and the Senate. Find more information on this document


Status: Public.


Professors: 1688. 


Students: 14000. 


Grounds: Msida Campus, Valletta Campus, Gozo Campus and Junior College. 


Academic Calendar: 1st semester (October - February), 2nd semester (February - June/July) and 3rd semester (June - September).


Departments and Degrees:



 Anthropological Sciences
 Art and Art History
 Classics & Archaeology
 International Relations
 Oriental Studies
 Spanish & Latin American Studies
 Translation, Terminology & Interpreting   Studies

 Built Environment

 Architecture & Urban Design
 Civil & Structural Engineering
 Conservation & Built Heritage
 Construction & Property Management
 Environmental Design
 Spatial Planning & Infrastructure
 Visual Arts

Dental Surgery

 Child Dental Health and Orthodontics
 Dental Surgery
 Oral Rehabilitation and Community Care
 Restorative Dentistry

 Economics, Management and Accountancy

 Banking & Finance
 Public Policy


 Arts, Open Communities & Adult Education
 Early Childhood & Primary Education
 Education Studies
 Health, Physical Education & Consumer   Studies
 Inclusion & Access to Learning
 Languages & Humanities Education
 Leadership for Learning & Innovation
 Mathematics & Science Education
 Technology & Entrepreneurship Education 


 Electronic Systems Engineering
 Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
 Industrial Electrical Power Conversion
 Mechanical Engineering
 Metallurgy & Materials Engineering
 Systems & Control Engineering 

 Health Sciences

 Applied Biomedical Science
 Communication Therapy
 Food Sciences and Nutrition
 Health Services Management
 Medical Physics
 Mental Health
 Occupational Therapy

 Information and Communication Technology

 Artificial Intelligence
 Communications & Computer Engineering
 Computer Information Systems
 Computer Science
 Microelectronics & Nanoelectronics 


 Civil Law
 Commercial Law
 Criminal Law
 Environmental & Resources Law
 European & Comparative Law
 International Law
 Legal History & Methodology
 Media, Communications & Technology Law
 Public Law 

 Media and knowledge sciences

 Cognitive Science
 Corporate Communication
 Digital Arts
 Information Policy & Governance
 Library Information & Archive Sciences
 Media & Communications 

 Medicine and surgery

 Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics
 Family Medicine
 Obstetrics & Gynaecology
 Physiology & Biochemistry
 Public Health


 Statistics & Operations Research
 Metamaterials Unit 

 Social Wellbeing

 Disability Studies
 Family Studies
 Gender Studies
 Social Policy & Social Work
 Youth & Community Studies 


 Church History
 Fundamental & Dogmatic Theology
 Moral Theology
 Pastoral Theology, Liturgy & Canon Law
 Sacred Scripture, Hebrew & GreekSacred   Scripture 


A number of interdisciplinary institutes and centres have been set up in various fields. More information here


International Programmes: International programmes through international memberships with various university groups: European University Association (EUA), European Access Network (EAN), Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), Utrecht Network, Compostela Group of Universities, Santander Group of Universities, European University Continuing Education Network (EUCEN), International Student Exchange Programme (ISEP) and European Association of Erasmus Coordinators (EAEC).


The University of Malta collaborates also with the following institutions: George Mason University (USA), Western Australia and Western Australia Museum, King’s College, London (UK),  International Ocean Institute (United Nations), University of New Orleans (USA), University of Iliinois (USA), Shanghai University of Traditional Medicine and Culture (China) and James Madison University (USA).